The 13th Floor

John Carpenter Announces New Album ‘LOST THEMES II’ & Tour!

For those of you that love not only the original soundtrack work of John Carpenter, but his first full length album of original compositions released about a year ago titled “Lost Themes,” you are in for a treat.

This morning, the esteemed filmmaker and musician announced a follow-up album “Lost Themes II!” Even better? It’s already done and ready for release this April 15th! Via his freshly launched official Instagram page, he also says, “Stay tuned for world tour announcements.” That’s right, the man will tour!

jcarpenter“Lost Themes II” reunites Carpenter with his son Cody Carpenter and godson Daniel Davies and consists of 11 new tracks, listed below. The digital version is available for pre-order on iTunes.

Newbury Comics is offering up a limited edition (of 500) colored vinyl LP release, which you can pre-order right here.

Keep your eyes on the official Sacred Bones Records page for word on other variations of this release and tour info! Track listing, confirmed tour dates and official press release are all listed below!

Lost Themes II:
01. Distant Dream
02. White Pulse
03. Persia Rising
04. Angel’s Asylum
05. Hofner Dawn
06. Windy Death
07. Dark Blues
08. Virtual Survivor
09. Bela Lugosi
10. Last Sunrise
11. Utopian Facade

John Carpenter 2016 Tour Dates:
06/02-04 Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
07/01-03 Ásbrú, IC @ ATP Iceland
10/28 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
10/29 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
10/31 – London, UK @ Troxy

John Carpenter has been responsible for much of the horror genre’s most striking soundtrack work in the fifteen movies he’s both directed and scored. The themes that drive them can be stripped to a few coldly repeating notes, take on the electrifying thunder of a rock concert, or submerge themselves into exotic, unholy miasmas. It’s work that instantly floods his fans’ musical memory with imagery of a menacing shape stalking a babysitter, a relentless wall of ghost-filled fog, lightning-fisted kung fu fighters, or a mirror holding the gateway to hell.

The son of a music professor, Carpenter attended the University of Southern California when the sounds of progressive, synthesizer-driven rock were on the horizon. It was with the minimal, iconic music of Halloween where Carpenter truly broke through as a major director – and film musician. Composers before him had used minimalism to create terror, whether it was two piano notes for a killer shark or the stabbing strings of a mother-obsessed psychopath, but it was Halloween’s brilliantly interwoven synth melodies that truly took genre scoring to a new, more sinister level.

The musical world of Lost Themes II is also a wider one than that of its predecessor. More electric and acoustic guitar help flesh out the songs, still driven by Carpenter’s trademark minimal synth. This manifests itself brilliantly in songs like lead single “Distant Dream,” which hitches a familiar Carpenterian beat to an expressive drum performance and rides it to a thrilling conclusion. The eerie “Angel’s Asylum” lets an ethereal synth line command the first three-quarters of the song, before turning over the melody to an acoustic guitar, and “Virtual Survivor” delivers a blast of the sci-fi menace that characterized his great scores for films like Assault on Precinct 13 and They Live. Lost Themes II delivers eleven compelling new tracks for which fans can continue to score the movies in their minds.